A Blog about Norse Fantasy, Viking Adventures, and More!

Welcome!

Welcome to Storm of the North, a blog about Norse mythology, Vikings, and my novel – which I hope advances Scandinavian lore in a respectable way.

Before we get to the interesting stuff, first a little about me, David Farney. I discovered Norse myth through comic books. Yep, you guessed it: The Mighty Thor. After high school I took a more academic interest in the Norse gods and, from there, in the history and literature of the Viking peoples who worshiped them.

But don’t worry – if the word ‘academic’ sounds dry or boring or highbrow, I assure you Scandinavian lore is anything but!

(The myth recipe is pretty simple, and far from exact: one part loudmouth, two parts mead or ale, three parts fantasy consisting of magical trinket, spell, and being such as god/goddess, giant, dwarf and elf. For saga recipe, substitute most but not all fantastical elements with swords, shields, and lots of humans.)

If you’re unfamiliar with Norse myths and Icelandic sagas, I hope you’ll stop by now and then to learn more about these incredible stories and the culture from which they grew.

If you’re already a fellow fan of things Nordic, please consider making Storm of the North a regular stop on your blog-reading-route. I’m always on the lookout for Nordic-themed book/music/art/movie recommendations and, indeed, intend to make my own contribution to the literature. At some point I’ll post an excerpt of my novel.

So thanks for stopping by! Before you venture further – within this blog or away – allow me to send you on with a few words of Nordic wisdom, borrowed here from Ferocious Common Sense by John Louis Anderson, a partial translation of ancient Nordic writings known as The Elder Edda:

Guard your secrets, tell them only to one person,
never share them with two;
What three people know, the whole world knows.

By all means, tell two people about this blog. . . . 

Leave a Reply

