A Blog about Norse Fantasy, Viking Adventures, and More!

Writing a Novel: Starting with a Question

Last Thor’s Day I mentioned I might post something about my own writing. How about where story ideas come from? Specifically, the idea for my novel STORM OF THE NORTH.

Let me start at the end. The end of Norse mythology, that is, at a time called Ragnarok when the Norse gods die in a terrible battle with their age-old enemies, the giants. The world is destroyed in a fiery struggle and then reborn. But the likes of Thor and Odin are no more. Just like that, our well of fantastical tales about ancient Norse heroes runs dry.

After reading the Ragnarok tale, I remember feeling a bit pissed. Perhaps cheated. I clearly remember the thought I had, in fact an exasperated question, which came to me that day, and it is from this question — this reaction — that STORM OF THE NORTH was born:

Is that all?

I tried to find novels that continued in the Norse tradition, but didn’t have much luck finding anything that rang true. So I began reading various re-tellings of the Norse myths, all the while daydreaming about what could be.

And the rest, as they say, is history.

If you’re interested, you can read an excerpt of my novel on the SOTN: The Book page, or you can go there by clicking here.

See ya Thor’s Day!

5 responses

  1. Adrian

    Yeah, there is something quite strange about how the norse myths end themselves. Again, I think it goes back to the worldview of a people who know (although they hate to admit it) that the weather and the earthquakes and the stormy seas can undo all they’ve spent their lives building and force them to start over again.

    And I guess, if you’re a late bronze-age early iron-age culture and you get a few years of particularly bad weather, it might seem like the likes of your grandfather, who had a bronze spear and helmet which you’ve long since melted down or traded for tools, might never come again.

    October 17, 2008 at 9:06 am

  2. seshdotcom

    Hey David I used to play a Game called Age of Mythology so there were Gods whom you can select to be on your side during that time I became very Interested in studying about Norse people and I will always select Norse in the campaign.

    So where are you from???

    http://www.seshdotcom.wordpress.com

    October 20, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  3. davidfarney

    That’s cool how you discovered Norse myth, Sesh. And good choice on which gods to side with! I trust you had many a victorious campaign.

    I live in the United States. You can learn a little more about me on my bio page.

    I hope you can stop by again — Thursdays will be my primary day for posting new stuff, always Norse related.

    October 20, 2008 at 7:29 pm

  4. Sid Vicious

    Hey Dave – Great blog, there seems to be a dearth of quality writing available for Norse mythology. I look forward to reading your ongoing blog and can’t wait for Storm of The North to hit bookshelves so I can pick it up.

    I love the premise of “what now?” in regards to the old gods. Nobody wants to lose their favorite characters and I would love to see some more with Thor, Odin and Loki.

    October 21, 2008 at 12:07 pm

  5. davidfarney

    Sid! Sid! How are things on the other side? Do you ever jam with Joe S or Joey R? Who plays drums?!

    I can’t wait for SOTN to hit the bookshelves, either. Publication takes time, though. And lots of hard work. Lots of both in fact.

    Neither can I wait to revisit the gods you mention, and hopefully add to the lore in a positive manner. (SOTN deals mainly with humans and their problems in/because of the absence of the gods.) But, BUT, I believe I’ve set the stage properly for some new stories of the gods in a followup to SOTN.

    October 21, 2008 at 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

