A Blog about Norse Fantasy, Viking Adventures, and More!

Thor’s Day Alert #7: The Nine Worlds of Norse Myth

Happy Thor’s Day, everybody!

Today, a short discussion of world structure according to Norsemen. They believed in nine worlds or planes, situated on three levels. The Nine Worlds are:

Asgard: realm of the Aesir (warrior) gods

Vanaheim: realm of the Vanir (vain) gods

Alfheim: realm of the Light Elves

Midgard: realm of man

Jotunheim: realm of Frost Giants

Nidavellir: realm of dwarves

Svartalfheim: realm of Dark Elves

Niflheim: realm of the common (non-warrior) dead

Muspelheim: realm of Fire Giants

Integral to Norse myth and these worlds is the one thing that links them all — the great ash tree, Yggdrasil. If you’d like to know how to pronounce that, click here, then scroll down a little and look for the “HEAR” button.

Cool, huh? Even cooler than the profanities you entered! What’s that? You didn’t check pronunciations of any four-letter words? Oh. I thought computerized swearing was universally hilarious.

Thanks for stopping by! See ya next week, if not sooner.


2 responses

  1. Pingback: Thor’s Day Alert #11: Heimdall « STORM OF THE NORTH

  2. Pingback: Thor’s Day Alert #27: Norse Myth and the Number Nine « STORM OF THE NORTH

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s