A Blog about Norse Fantasy, Viking Adventures, and More!

Tuesday Althing: Four Norsemen T-shirt

For the NFL fans out there: did you happen to watch FOX Sports last weekend? (The best NFL broadcasting and commentary team in the business, IMO.) Did you see the awesome (Norse) T-shirt worn by a Minnesota Vikings defensive player during the Michael Strahan interview?

I couldn’t believe my eyes! THUNDER AND PLUNDER was emblazoned atop the design, with THOR D FORCE beneath. THOR D FORCE? Seriously — I had to rewind the DVR to make sure I hadn’t misread the more traditional expression “TOUR de FORCE”.

Clearly, this is a Vikings team that knows its roots. Even though they beat my Cowboys like adolescent thralls, I’ll be pulling for the Vikings against the Saints. Vikings defensive ends Jared Allen and Ray Edwards along with defensive tackles Pat and Kevin Williams are a force indeed, and I heartily endorse the name they’ve come up with for their unit: THUNDER AND PLUNDER. I’ve looked high and low for an image of the shirt and have struck out. But rest assured I’ll post it when I find it.

Until then here’s an image of the almost-as-cool Four Norsemen T-shirt depicting Bret “Old Man” Favre, Adrian “Butterfingers” Peterson, Percy “Headaches”  Harvin, and Jared “Mullet” Allen:

With monikers like those, you gotta wonder how the Vikings keep winning. Or do you? If you understand Norse lore, you already know: individuality and ferocity can combine to make a formidable team — fashion, finesse, and age be damned.

Thanks for stopping by. See ya next time!

16 responses

  1. Suzanne

    my boss has given me the assignment to find him a “Thunder and Plunder” shirt. gotta keep my job. let me know asap when you find one.

    January 19, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  2. I’ll do that, Suzanne. And if you come across one please let me know so I can post about it. Thanks!

    January 19, 2010 at 9:22 pm

  3. April Kooiman

    We are looking for 8 of them for our super bowl trip! (hopefully)

    If you find them – let me know!

    Thanks

    January 20, 2010 at 9:26 pm

  4. That t-shirt verily rocks.

    January 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm

  5. April: still looking . . . no luck yet.
    Brian: methinks you might have been a fan of a certain comic book. Nice!

    January 21, 2010 at 7:03 am

  6. Julie Carrillo

    Me and my son saw that shirt too….WE WANT ONE also….if u find it please let me know!!!

    January 23, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    • Will do, Julie. Good luck today vs. the Saints!

      January 24, 2010 at 10:16 am

  7. Jody

    I saw it as well and would love it. Jared Allen is my man.. so much fun to watch him destroy quarterbacks especially Aaron Rodgers of the Packers. I have been looking everywhere with no luck.

    January 24, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    • He IS awesome — and the mullet makes it even better! Won’t be long before he takes the field . . .

      January 24, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  8. Taylor

    you can get your thunder and plunder t shirts (defensive line shirts) at the official jared allen facebook page, or jared allen’s website

    http://www.jaredallen69inc.com

    August 30, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    • Thanks for the lead, Taylor. I saw lots of stuff at Jared’s site, but no Thunder and Plunder shirts specifically. Can you provide a link to the shirt? If you could, that would be great!

      August 31, 2010 at 7:38 pm

  9. Frank

    thats so right would love to by the shirt but cant find it HELP

    November 28, 2010 at 9:09 am

  10. Mike

    I know this is an old thread, but any word on that shirt??

    January 15, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Leave a Reply

